Sunday, December 31, 2006

Week TWElVe - blah!

Another week another set of holiday complaints...too much food, not enough gym, too many beers, need to re-set, blah-blah-blah...same story-new week. Whatever...

The numbers, if you care:
Initial Weight: 220
Week1: 214 [6 pound loss]
Week2: 210 [4 pound loss]
Week3: 206 [4 pound loss]
Week4: 204 [2 pound loss]
Week5: 199 [5 pound loss]
Week6: 196.5 [2.5 lb loss]
Week7: 198 [1.5 lb GAIN] - Boo!
Week8: 195 [3 pound loss]
Week9: 193 [2 pound loss]
Week10: 191 [2 pound loss]
Week11: 191 [0 pound loss] - *Sigh*
Week12: 195 [4 pound gain] - CRAP!

Happy friggin' new year everyone.

Wednesday, December 27, 2006

Week-double 1 OR Damn Holidays...

Ok, so what the 'f'? Is there anyway to not eat all sorts of crap on the week leading up to Christmas? And what happens the week of Christmas...that's right, more of the same. I suck at this will-power stuff when I don't have really rigid boundaries. Poop, crap, dang-it, shoot, blah, hmmmmm, aaahhh....anyhow,

I hope everyone had a grand xmas and are all looking forward to drunkin' (if not, at least fun) new year's celebrations. We are having visitors (read: Maria's youngest sis, Monika +2) and will be hanging with a big group of friends on the East side celebrating the open bar (read: Sangria goodness).

All this simply adds up to one thing...must re-set on 1/3...I need an extra day to recover as (1) I am getting old and the hangovers last longer, (2) My tolerance is nil and the hangovers last longer, and (3) the hangovers last longer, dang it...

I am going to blow up the work out from the 6 week version of Vern's regiment - may try his Soccer specific work out or a bigger version of what I've been doing...need to figure it all out over the next few days. Either way, I gots-ta get my arse back in action. I say all of this for 2 main reasons (1) Lost 0 lbs last week - gained 0 but lost 0 - better than gaining but not good enough and (2) this weekend we (we = Maria, sibs, Beth, Jen, Tim, Erika and Monika, Maria's dad, John, and I) played a game called spud in the park. This game involves sprinting short distances over-and-over-and-over, and getting hit with a ball and stuff. Well, every bit of my body frickin' hurts today. There isn't a clearer picture for me that I have been dragging ass in the exercise-department. And if I want to get back to playing soccer, I need to be in better shape.

More about SPUD here (our version is a little different, but you'll get the idea): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SPUD_%28game%29

The other front is food, as always. I need to totally re-set here as well. Too much snacking, too much eating out, too much of too much - whatever that means. Starting 1/3, we will be back on the set dinners and my breakfasts and lunches will be all set up for the week. After 1/3, no eating out until I get back on track! Like I said, needs me some rigid rules to keep it together. All I need to do is make 180 by the end of January...I think (hope) I can do it. I'll be pissed if I don't.

Here's the poop:
Initial Weight: 220
Week1: 214 [6 pound loss]
Week2: 210 [4 pound loss]
Week3: 206 [4 pound loss]
Week4: 204 [2 pound loss]
Week5: 199 [5 pound loss]
Week6: 196.5 [2.5 lb loss]
Week7: 198 [1.5 lb GAIN] - Boo!
Week8: 195 [3 pound loss]
Week9: 193 [2 pound loss]
Week10: 191 [2 pound loss]
Week11: 191 [0 pound loss] - *Sigh*

Just need to get under 190 and roll from there...

Cheers to you all! Be safe, have fun, see you in '07!

P.S. Another note (or shameless plug) about my bro's band:
They now have their video (to be featured on Jack's Big Music Show) on YouTube. If you get a chance, check it out, give it some stars, and comment or whatever. Their kids album should be out in early '07. Hope you all enjoy.

Go here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ch5lqxYcaRo

or here:
http://www.mightyweaklings.com

PEACE OUT!

Monday, December 18, 2006

New Blog Feature

Now you can tell me what you think in real time!

As you know, I am a gadget/tech nerd-ster. One of my new favorite nerd-sites is meebo (meebo.com). Meebo is an instant messaging site...like Yahoo!IM or GoogleTalk...but it is all built inside a website. They give you the ability to log onto multiple messagers as well. I use Yahoo!IM, GoogleTalk, and Mac-iChat...and get logged in all at once via Meebo.

Another cool thing they have, called MeeboMe, is an embedded chat window for everyday folks (like myself) to use with in their websites. Look over in the right margin and you'll see my MeeboMe widget ------>

If I am online, feel free to send me a message...it'll be fun and exciting and what not...blah.

Sunday, December 17, 2006

Week 10 - The Holiday Party Edition

Man holiday parties are fun...Especially now that I can enjoy a beer or vodka or rum drink...and last night I enjoyed 'em. After taking about 9 weeks of no alcohol, it really hits you hard when start back up. Not incredibly hung over today (Maria is, however) but I probably should be...had way too much vodka.

Another thing about holiday parties - food, food, more food. Maria and I had our standard pre-planned dinner before heading to our pal Charles' condo . When we got to the party, I proceeded to start 'snacking' and didn't stop until we stumbled out the door hours later. Wow, snack foods are a good time. Anyhow, I need to pedal extra hard on the bike today, that is fer sure.

To top off the holiday fooding, Maria and I thought it would be a good idea to do a little baking (read: Maria's been doing some baking). Well, the apartment reeks of wonderfully decadent cookies, breads, nuts, and cakes...and it makes me want to eat it all. Needless to say, this has been a true test of the ole will power...it is sort of holding up...sort of...well, at least I haven't eaten an entire tray of cookies just yet (but I want to).

Here is what we (she) are making:
1. Cranberry oatmeal cookies with a citrus glaze (delightful!)
2. Cranberry oatmeal chocolate chip cookies (splendiferous!)
3. Inside-out carrot cake cookie (Spectacular!)
4. Good ole fashion Banana Nut Bread (Exceptional!)

As the un-official-official cookie tasting tester, I can honestly say that there aint a dud in the bunch...all of these treats taste dern good.

With the parties, holiday dinners, treats, etc., how will he continue to lose weight, you may be asking - well may be not, but what ever...I think it is OK to allow some indulgence over Christmas & New Years, but I need to remember to stick to the plan the rest of the time. And if you forgot, here is a summary of the plan:

A. 2 lbs/week
B. 180 by 1/27/07
C. 1 freebie breakfast, lunch, and dinner per week (freebie = delivery, eating out, etc.)
D. Plan out dinners for the week
* Using eDiets recipes Maria and I pick out meals for each night, print the recipes and shopping list
* We use the eDiets shopping list to get all the food for the week on Sunday - done and done for dinner all week
E. Easy breakfast - 4 bowls of healthy cereal all put together on Sunday night ready for the work week
F. Easy lunch - 4 salads also made on Sunday for the work week
G. Snacks - nut mixes, apples, bananas, etc.

I think this is working pretty well. The key is the planned out dinners. We used to sit around the apartment at 9:00 and badger each other into deciding what to eat for dinner...all while snacking on crappy food...until we finally decide to order from some restaurant serving nothing but fried fries with fries and more fries and a fries shake...mmm fries. Not good. So, we have found that removing the stress of "impulse dinners" have helped mentally, health-wise, and financially. I know we are spending way less cash a week on food...which is a nice side-effect.

Alright, enough with the goobly-goop...here's me weight:
Initial Weight: 220
Week1: 214 [6 pound loss]
Week2: 210 [4 pound loss]
Week3: 206 [4 pound loss]
Week4: 204 [2 pound loss]
Week5: 199 [5 pound loss]
Week6: 196.5 [2.5 lb loss]
Week7: 198 [1.5 lb GAIN] - Boo!
Week8: 195 [3 pound loss]
Week9: 193 [2 pound loss]
Week10: 191 [2 pound loss]

29 lbs down and out [Goal = 24 pounds by 12/02 - DONE AND DONE; Next Goal = 15 more by 1/27; Total Goal = 40 dropped by 1/27]

Wow, almost 30 pounds since this whole thing started. Pretty cool.

One other note about last night's party - it had been a few weeks since I saw most of the folks at the party...and they all made me feel really great. Everyone mentioned that I looked way different and that is a real confidence booster - so thank you to everyone last night...you guys are all great, great friends. - - the same goes to all of you guys still taking the time to read this blog...thanks so much for the support and comments...

OK, enough mushy-mushy...Everyone enjoy the holiday parties, treats, and whatnot...hopefully, I don't go crazy and stuff a million cookies down my gullet...

Tuesday, December 12, 2006

el week-o nine-oh

So, I pretty much forgot to post this week. I guess I was busy or something or maybe everything seems to be going so smoothly that I didn't know what to say so sub-consciously avoided the blog...who knows...I know that this is one hell of a cool run-on sentence...how long can it go on...now I am just rambling...and it is fun...

A quick look back - It has been 2 full weeks since the tray food ended...and I can't say that I am happier to be done with it. Now don't get me wrong, I was impressed with the results of said tray food (read: 22 lbs lost up to week 7 - all on eDiets), but I am glad to have the freedom of choice and ability to eat a grilled cheese from Vynl again...and even enjoy an adult beverage when needed.

Over the past couple of weeks, Maria and I have been sticking to our meals. I think it is working out pretty well. We are saving money (no ordering out) and eating much better. An added bonus - no decision making at night...we know what we are going to have and all the ingredients are in the kitchen ready to go...easy-peasy-lemon-squeezey.

This is pretty much all over the place...so, I'll get to the numbers and get out...

A little more gone:
Initial Weight: 220
Week1: 214 [6 pound loss]
Week2: 210 [4 pound loss]
Week3: 206 [4 pound loss]
Week4: 204 [2 pound loss]
Week5: 199 [5 pound loss]
Week6: 196.5 [2.5 lb loss]
Week7: 198 [1.5 lb GAIN] - Boo!
Week8: 195 [3 pound loss]
Week9: 193 [2 pound loss]

27 lbs 86'd - week 9 goal reached! [Goal = 24 pounds by 12/02 - DONE AND DONE; Next Goal = 15 more by 1/27; Total Goal = 40 dropped by 1/27]

So, I am on track for losing 2 lbs a week over the next 8 weeks.

In other news:
My brother's band (www.mightyweaklings.com) have a video on Jack's Big Music Show - a kid's show on NOGGIN. Apparently, they have been doing promo's for the next season and their video has been featured. If you have kids or are one of those people that just like watching kid's shows, look for their video - it is about a rocket ship and has a rockin' beat.

That's all and junk....

Monday, December 04, 2006

Semana ocho - meta grande

It is hard to imagine that I kicked this whole think off a mere 8 weeks ago. I'd like to thank everyone who has been keeping up by passively reading, posting comments, calling, etc. Every bit has helped.

Week 8 was the 'goal line' for the first 24 lbs. That timeframe was based on an incorrect assumption that the ediets meal plan lasted 8 weeks. Regardless, I let the 8 week goal stand. That meant I had to figure out a way to lose weight with out the comfort of ediets...which is the longer term goal anyhow. Unfortunately, my first 'experimental' week (last week) didn't go so well. Part because it landed on Thanksgiving and part because I sort of broke some rules (and ate too much bad stuff). Lesson learned, I approached this week with a better plan. The first full week with out ediet's meal, an important goal, and following the first 'weight gain' week...and how did I do? You tell me:

Hitting the mark:
Initial Weight: 220
Week1: 214 [6 pound loss]
Week2: 210 [4 pound loss]
Week3: 206 [4 pound loss]
Week4: 204 [2 pound loss]
Week5: 199 [5 pound loss]
Week6: 196.5 [2.5 lb loss]
Week7: 198 [1.5 lb GAIN] - Boo!
Week8: 195 [3 pound loss]

25 lbs LOST OVERALL - I eeked past my goal by 1 lb! [Goal = 24 pounds by 12/02]

I was happy to see the scale read in my favor...but that is just the start...

Here is what I did:
A. 6 1/2 weeks of meals from a tray
* Only a couple of meals were outside of the 'plan' and they were salads
* I find it hard to believe that I kept up with this and didn't cave to the Fries
B. 7 weeks of a new work out
* I missed a few days at the gym here and there, but for the most part I stuck as close to the work out as possible
* Another hard to believe act as I have never been able to sustain a consistent gym schedule - ever!
C. 8 weeks with out a single drop of alcoholic goodness
* Not a single drop! Nada, nil, nothing...
* Everyone is surprised that I stuck to this rule - even myself. It is good to see that I can easily shut off the beer spigot when I want.
D. All of this added up to losing 25 lbs
* I think about 10 lbs came from my face, another 10 from my legs, and the last 5 from the belly (which is where I wanted it all to come from).
* I hope that all adds up to the next 15 coming from the ole beer belly...

Here is what is next:
I think I am going to have to work even harder than before to hit the next goals. I have to make sure I continue to lose weight while eating 'normal' food and enjoying the occational adult beverage. That means - better planning and big time gym-action.

Goals:
Weight loss: Another 15 pounds or a target of 180lbs
* that would be a total of 40 lbs!

Weight loss goal per week (a little smaller goal this time): 2 lbs/week

Starting at Week 9 (12/3-12/9), I will need to hit 180 on 1/27/07. That is another 8 weeks...CRAP 8 MORE WEEKS! I think I can make it happen, but it will be tough with Christmas eating and new found freedoms (read: Rum).

Plan:
1. Breakfast & Lunch (during the week):
* Prepare the week's breakfasts and lunches on Sunday and stick to what I make
> This will save money and keep me on track
> Breakfast = cereal (not Frankenberry or Apple Jacks, but some healthy fibery, nutty, cereal)
> Lunch = Leftover dinner OR salad with some sort of light dressing + some mixed nuts and an apple or similar fruity goodness
* Freebees
> One breakfast (the office has bagels every Tuesday) and one lunch can be from some other source
> You gotta live, right? I have a bunch of friends that work in the area (and 2 in the same office) and I haven't been able to join any for lunch since this started....so, I need to make sure that can happen and whatnot and junk

2. Breakfast & Lunch (on the weekends):
* Breakfast = some sort of egg/meat combination...just a little something to get the day going that is not cereal
> A little variety from the breakfast during the week and still not ordering out for food - which is dangerous
* Lunch = Same as during the week - however, I usually end up eating breakfast so late that I skip lunch on the weekends, so whatever

3. Dinner
* ediets meals or better, pre-planned menu for the week with all the ingredients purchased on the weekend
> Maria and I are on our second week of doing this and I think it worked out really well last week
> This takes the guessing out of each night, we get to enjoy a 'self-prepared' meal and it always hits the spot
> Keeps up from ordering all the junk available in our neighborhood

4. Dinner freebees
* 1-2 times a week I can eat out or order from a restaurant...however, I need to make sure to STOP eating when full and not order stupid things, like chicken fried steak with a side of mashed potatoes topped with French fries covered in a vat of lard
> Again, to keep us sane, we need to enjoy the outside world, yes?

5. Bring on Vern
* I am starting the 6 week Vern Gambetta program over - cycle 2, if you will
> This time I know what to expect and will ratchet everything up a noch
> I think the weight loss this time around will hinge more on the exercise than food intake changes - I think my body has made it's adjustments to the food levels, so now it is going to be doubly hard to lose the belly...

So, just when you thought it was all over - 8 MORE WEEKS OF FUN!